Trustees welcome two new members; discuss awards

By Daniel Brunty The Winston County Journal

The LMSD Board of Trustees welcomed two board members during their regular monthly meeting on March 22. Board members Brenda Johnson (Beat 3) and Cathy Edwards (Beat 4) were administered the Oath of Office in front of a larger-than-normal crowd at the meeting. Johnson will replace Dr. Mark Donald in his previous position and Edwards will retake her position which was vacated in 2011. Edwards was also approved by the board to serve as the board secretary after a motion was made by Bobby Moody for her to the take over the position. The board also agreed to elect officers this upcoming July. This is normally done in March, but the board decided to wait until July. The board also recognized the recipients of PREPS Awards for this year as well as the district and its partners for the Governor’s Award. Superintendent Dr. William C. Wade received three PREPS awards and two schools received individual awards. Dr. Wade received the Dan Merritt Courage Award, which is given to a person who makes decisions that are outside the normal path to achieve academic of students through nontraditional means. The second award was the PREPS Involvement Award, which is given to a school district that has a significant involvement with PREPS programs and activities. The awards recipients have had the highest percentage of their teachers and administrators participate in PREPS sponsored professional development opportunities and other programs and activities during the past year. The third award, the PREPS Partnership Award, details the inclusion of PREPS training done at Eiland Middle School that allows surrounding school districts to travel a smaller distance to receive continuing educational opportunities which will benefit the learning environment. Eiland Middle School and Nanih Waiya Attendance Center received the Value Added Awards. Pam Reed, Algebra teacher received the award at Eiland and Renee Jones, Biology teacher, at Nanih Waiya received the award. PREPS Value Added Awards Program recognizes schools and teachers who are considered to be performing significantly better than other schools with comparable socioeconomic circumstances on the schools state assessment results. The District also received the MAPE Governor’s Award. The award recognized the district’s improvement in its college attendance and Act test taking rates. The District in 2009 had 44 percent of its students preparing to attend college in 2011 the rate increased to 84 percent. The award recognized the partnership between the school district, ECCC, Boys and Girls Club, Mississippi Scholars, Winston County Economic Development Partnership, the city of Louisville, and Winston County Library to improve the rates and encourage students to attend college as part of its “Getcha Head in the Game” program. The MAPE Governor’s Award recognizes creative, results-oriented partnerships that emphasize student achievement in reading, science and math, the arts, fitness and health, community involvement, and many other areas that are vital to academic enrichment. The board also approved the 2012-2013 school calendar. Some of the noteworthy items include August 6, 2012, which will be the first day of classes for LMSD schools. In other news, the Board of Trustees: • Approved to advertise for materials and supplies for the operation of schools for the 2012-13 school year. • Approved to add to the substitute list the following: Teacher List— LaCheryl Curtis, Daniel Eichelberger, Renae Metts. Janitorial List— Penny Hunt. • Approved to accept donation from Nanih Waiya Booster Club in the amount of $8,384.28 to the Nanih Waiya Attendance Center for the purchase of a new baseball scoreboard. • Approval to accept the following donations to help purchase the State Football Championship rings in Noxapater: Clovis Parker ($100), Glenn Stevens ($100), Danny Snow($50), Paul Snow ($150), Joyce Wells ($100), Stallo Methodist Church ($100), Nick Hensley ($100), Woody Reed ($1,000), Kemp Associates ($100). • Took no action on student transfers from Louisville Municipal School District to Neshoba County School District. The reason was that by state law a teacher’s child may transfer to whatever district the parent is teaching in. • Approved several sixteenth section leases. Discussed possibility of a park being placed on Sixteen Section land near Turnipseed Road. Discussed changing the lease rates for churches, cemeteries and parks located on Sixteen Section land. The LMSD Board of Trustees next scheduled meeting is April 10, 2012