Two new members to take seats on school board

[news] Two new members to take seats on school board

From staff reports

The Louisville Municipal School Board will introduce two new members on March 22 at its regularly scheduled meeting.
Brenda Johnson and Cathy Edwards were elected to District 3 and District 4 respectively.  In the District 3 trustee election, Johnson received 204 votes of the 390 votes cast in the District 4 election. Bobby DeWayne Fuller came in second with 84 votes, Winford Stewart received 60 votes and Stanley Foster received 42 votes.
In the District 4 trustee election, Edwards won with 168 votes of 262 votes cast. Charles D. Holmes came in second with 72 votes and Scotty Johnson with 22 votes.
Johnson will replace Mark Donald who did not seek reelection. Johnson will serve a five-year term which ends March of 2017. Johnson is employed with the Winston-Choctaw County Regional Correctional Facility
Edwards is retaking the role she served until March of 2011. The District 4 election was a special election to fill a vacant post. Edwards will serve a four-year term from March 2012 until March 2016. Edwards is employed by the Winston County Circuit Clerk’s office.
The elections were held March 3 from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. and had a low voter turnout compared to registered number of voters in each district.
The next trustees’ school board meeting was tentatively set for March 22 at 5:30 p.m.