DYW program set for this Saturday

From staff reports

The Distinguished Young Women of Winston County scholarship program
participants will take the stage at Louisville High School Auditorium
6 p.m. Saturday, March 2 to vie for scholarships and the title of
2013 Winston County Distinguished Young Woman.
The theme will be Rockin’ to the 80’s. There are 6 contestants.

Contestant 1: Abigail Layne McCool is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
Kevin McCool. She is a junior at Winston Academy. Abigail will be
playing Sonata (Pathetique) by Ludwig van Beethoven on the piano.

Contestant 2: Emily Joy Mills is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brian
Mills. She is a junior at Noxapater Attendance Center. Emily will
be singing “Show-Off” from ‘The Drowsy Chaperone’.

Contestant 3: Kathryn Louise King is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
Kevin King. She is a junior at Winston Academy. Kathryn will be
singing “You Can’t Stop the Beat” from the Movie ‘Hairspray’.

Contestant 4: Kimberly Ann Hallford is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
Darrell Hallford. She is a junior at Grace Christian School.
Kimberly will be dancing to Footloose.

Contestant 5: Anna Claire Webb is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs.
James Robert Webb. She is a junior at Noxapater Attendance Center.
Anna Claire will be playing “Whitewater Chopped Sticks” by Calvin
Jones on the piano.

Contestant 6: Madison Claire Holdiness is a junior at Nanih Waiya
Attendance Center. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joey
Holdiness. She will be performing a monologue entitled “My First Kiss”.

Tickets and program booklets will be available at the door. The
winning contestant will earn scholarships and an opportunity to
compete in the state DYW program in Meridian. The state winner
competes in the national program.

The 56th Annual DYW National Finals will take place June 27 – 29,
2013 at the Mobile Civic Center in Mobile, AL.

Distinguished Young Women participants come from all walks of life,
but they have one common characteristic: the desire to succeed.
Each young woman receives valuable life experience through
participation in the program including relationship skills, self-
confidence, and a sense of achievement. The goal of Distinguished
Young Women is to ensure that everyone who participates in the
program at any level has an enjoyable and memorable experience. More
than providing scholarship dollars, the program inspires these high
school girls to develop their full, individual potential through a
fun, transformative experience that culminates in a celebratory
showcase of their accomplishments.

For more information about Distinguished Young Women of America,
please visit www.distinguishedyw.org.

Founded in 1958 in Mobile, Ala., the nonprofit program’s goal is to
honor young women who excel and encourage them to obtain a college
education and assume roles of leadership in their communities and
professions. During the past 54 years, DYW has awarded cash
scholarships totaling more than $93 million to girls across the
nation. More than 700,000 young college-bound young women have
competed in the program, including Diane Sawyer, co-host of ABC’s
“Good Morning America,” and co-anchor of “Primetime Thursday;”
Deborah Norville, host of “Inside Edition;” E.D. Hill, an anchor on
Fox News Channel’s “Fox and Friends;” and Debra Messing, co-star of
NBC’s “Will & Grace.”