Election commissioners take oath

From staff and press reports

Winston County’s five election commissioners took the oath of office January 3, 2013.

Chancery Court Judge Joey Kilgore swore into office the five county’s election commissioners.

All five of the county election commissioners ran unopposed in November. Shawn Butts for District 1, Dell Gillett for District 2, Dean Miller for District 3, Mattie Cooper for District 4 and Mary Reed for District 5 will all retain their election commissioner’s posts. Butts was appointed as District 1 election commissioner in October to fill a vacancy.

While Butts has been in the position for three months, the other commissioners have a strong record of service. Mary Reed has served since 1991 and Mattie Cooper has served since 1992. Dean Miller has served since 1997 and Dell Gillett has served since 2004.

Election Commissioners are selected by public vote for a 4-year term. There is no limit to the number of consecutive terms a commissioner may serve, but they must be qualified electors in Winston County and a resident of the supervisor district in which she is a candidate.

The job of each commissioner is to uphold the election law and see that the elections (general, special and run-off) are conducted in an honest and fair manner. It is their duty to prepare the ballots, man the polling locations, certify the election and purge the voter rolls. Primary elections are overseen by the respective county party and the Winston County Election Commissioners are not required to be involved with these elections, yet may aid in make sure those elections operate properly.

Anyone may help the Winston County Election Commissioners keep the voter rolls updated by notifying the commissioners if a person movers or has passed away.

Judge Joseph Kilgore is a judge on the Mississippi Chancery Court, District 6, Seat 1. He was sworn in on July 7, 2010.