MHSAA awards football players

With the end of the Mississippi High School Activities Association 2012 football season, several Winston county players received postseason honors.

The 2012 Mississippi Association of Coaches recently announced the Class 1A and 4A All-State teams as well as the All-MAIS football team. In addition, the All-Region teams in 4-4A and 3-1A were also released.

Louisville After a winning season, the Ackerman Indians had three players on their roster to receive Class 4A All-State recognition. Junior Desmond Goss (WR) was selected as first team offense. Junior Wyatt Roberts (QB) was picked as second team offense while junior Jeremy Sangster (LB) was chosen as second team defense. In Region 4-4A Roberts was selected as offensive most valuable player for the 2012 MHSAA football season. The Wildcats selected to the Region 4-4A Super 11 Offense include Cass Love (RB), Desmond Goss (WR), Dontae Jones (WR), Tyler Hickman (OL), Kirk Sisson (OL). Louisville players selected to the region Super 11 Defense include Jeremy Sangster (LB), Stefan Brown (DB), Chris Wraggs (DE/DL) and Anthony Gund (DE/DL). Wildcat players selected to the All-Region first team offense and defense include Dalton Hudspeth, Raquel Graham, Nicholas Shields, Jalon Sangster and Shaquille Shumaker.

Louisville honorable mentions include Chad Metts, Malik Slaughter, Rodneal Smith, T.J. Hudson, Dyquan Jordan, Dylan Nicholson, Darius Miller, Channing Hughes and Lakendrick Vaughn.

Nanih Waiya The Nanih Waiya Warriors had several honorees this year including two All-State players after a successful season on the gridiron. Senior Ty Higginbotham (C) was selected as first team offense by the coaches in Class 1A. Sophomore Jarmarlo Smith (FB) was chosen as second team offense. The Warriors Region 3-1A All-Region team includes Ty Higginbotham, Hunter Luke, Jamarlo Smith, Hayden Patterson and Aaron Ellinburg. Honorable mentions include Stewart Ball, Luke Rosamond, Marcellous Grady and Ethan Copeland.

Noxapater The Noxapater Tigers dominated this season on the field as well as the Class 1A awards. The Tigers had three first team All-State offensive players this year including senior Trey Baber (RB), junior Justin Robertson (WR) and junior Trevara Miller (OT). Junior Jacoby Lewis (DT) was selected as first team All-State defense. Led by first year head coach Justin Hunter, the Tigers were awarded Region 3-1A coaching staff of the year. Baber was chosen as the All-Region player of the year while Lewis was selected as the All-Region defensive player of the year. The All-Region Tiger team includes Trey Baber, Austin Snow, Jacoby Lewis, David Parker, Trevara Miller, Keon Coburn and Justin Robertson. Honorable mentions include Tyrell Carter, Brandon Moore, Dustin McVay and Anthony Brown.

Winston Academy The Winston Academy Patriots received statewide recognition with an All-MAIS selection. Senior Zach Taylor (LB) was chosen as All-MAIS first team defense by the coaches.