Fallen officers recognized in annual program

By Joseph McCain The Winston County Journal

The Mississippi Highway Patrol and Louisville Police Department wrapped up National Police Memorial Week, May 13-19, with a memorial service for the three law enforcement officers from Winston County who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

“We recognize those officers who lost their lives while serving and protecting the community,” said Louisville Police Chief L.M. Claiborne.

Officers remembered and recognized were Joe A. Clay, Robert Henry McLeod, and Darrell C. Cooper. The officers were recognized in a wreath-laying ceremony May 20 at the end of National Police Week events.

Several City of Louisville Officials were in attendance.

National Police Day, May 15, was first declared by President John F. Kennedy in 1962. Annually, National Police Week is the week that includes National Police Day. Over the years, 237 law officers from Mississippi have been killed in the line of duty.