Alumni Association names new student delegates

Thirty-one Mississippi State students are new members of the university alumni association’s liaison organization. Founded in 1980, Alumni Delegates serve as liaisons between the 134- year-old land-grant institution and its more than 122,000 living graduates. Helping improve the student body’s understanding of the alumni association’s role and purpose is among their major missions. Over the decades, this student branch of the association has proven invaluable in assisting with organizational programs and activities, including football tailgate gatherings, class reunions and numerous other on- and off-campus events. Delegate officers for 2012 include president John B. Guyton of Starkville; Claire Faccini of Moss Point, vice president for public relations; Rivers Uithoven of Brandon, secretary; and Jacob T. Kent of Tupelo, vice president for education. Members are selected through a highly competitive interview process. This year’s group was chosen from among nearly 270 applicants, and joins 13 returning delegates. The new area members include (by hometown): ACKERMAN—Junior Jennifer E. Cooper, a physical education/kinesiology major, the daughter of Jean and Tom Cooper. She is a graduate of Ackerman High School. LOUISVILLE —Senior Clark A. Price, an accounting major, the son of Melanie and Cecil Price and a Grace Christian School graduate. For more information about MSU, see