Black history program held at HeadStart


From staff reports The Winston County Complex Head Start recently celebrated Black History month with a special program.  Mrs. Mattie Cooper, regional administrator greeted everyone.  Cooper stated that she was “well pleased with the children and the presentation that they…

Community Helpers at Headstart

Captain Vernon Eichelberger talks with the students

Press reports During the fall 2013, Winston County Complex Headstart’s staff organized a Community Helpers Week.  The purpose was to introduce different community helpers to the children and to their parents for them to gain a ‘helper friendly attitude’.  The…

Changing the perception of the public library

Pictured (left to right) - Winston County Library staff members- Denise Dickerson (Circulation Clerk) and Beth Edwards (Branch Manager), MMRLS System HQ staff member- Brandon Cain (Reference/ILL Coordinator)

From press reports Kosciusko, MS, April 10, 2014- The public library has long been synonymous with books; however, the library would be better viewed as a community learning center. To emphasize the entirety of library services that Mid-Mississippi Regional Library…

Traipsin Round Town


Lynne Cunningham Provides a view from the community. Now we get our Easter Snap with more rain but warmer weather is predicted for Easter Sunday. How lovely the transformation will be when the cruel cross (at First Methodist) miraculously blooms…

DAR recognizes local students

Standing Left: Victoria Burt, representing Louisville High School; Austin Baskin, representing Winston Academy; Emily Mills, representing Noxapater High School; Crystal Holdiness, Nanih Waiya and Petey Vowell, Grace Christian.

These high school seniors were chosen DAR Good Citizens by their respective schools for 2014. They were honored by the Nanih Waiya Daughters of the American Revolution with a tea at the

REPM busy

Chairman of Committees for REPM. Betty Bond -- Membership/Attendance; Maxine Coburn -- Community Service; Esco Hemphill -- Nominating; Shelia Hickman -- Publicity & Legislative; Charlotte Nabers -- Program; Shirley Robertson -- Communication; Shelby Varner -- Community Service; Martha Weeks -- Handbook; Kay Ward -- Legislative

Shirley Hall, Miss. Statewide Voter ID Coordinator with Joe Wylie, President of Winston Co. REPM. Hall spoke to

ECCC Student Newspaper Staff receives awards

Award-Winning Newspaper Staff
Members of East Central Community College’s newspaper staff display various awards presented at the O.C. McDavid Journalism Conference held March 27, 2014 at the Mississippi Craft Center in Ridgeland. Pictured (front row, from left) DeeJay Rolison of Hickory, editor Madison Herrington of Union and Dominick Fields of Forest; (second row, from left) cartoonist Claire Griffin of Decatur, Conor Bell of Carthage, opinions editor Will Stokes of Philadelphia, Candice Stewart of Morton and Madison Barnett, Noxapater; and (back row, from left) design editor Payton Smith of Forest, Ashley Bozeman of Decatur and Kimberly Harrison of Forest. (EC Photo)

From press reports East Central Community College’s student newspaper, The Tom-Tom, was among the top student newspapers in the state recognized during the 2014 O.C. McDavid Journalism Conference held March 27, 2014 at the Mississippi Craft Center in Ridgeland. East…